

# **2021 DOCTOR OF PHYSICAL THERAPY CELEBRATION**

THE FOURTEENTH OF MAY, TWO THOUSAND TWENTY ONE

School of Medicine & Health Sciences

THE GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY



# GRADUATION CEREMONY

WELCOME FROM THE PROGRAM DIRECTOR

Ellen Costello, PT, PhD

MESSAGE FROM THE HEALTH, HUMAN FUNCTION, AND REHABILITATION SCIENCES CHAIRPERSON

Joyce R. Maring, PT, DPT, EdD

MESSAGE FROM THE SENIOR ASSOCIATE DEAN

Reamer L. Bushardt, PharmD, PA-C, DFAAPA

#### NATIONAL AWARD

NATIONAL PHYSICAL THERAPY STUDENT HONOR SOCIETY

**ALPHA ETA INDUCTEES** 

## **PROGRAM AWARDS**

**OUTSTANDING ALUMNI AWARD** 

**OUTSTANDING CLINICAL EDUCATOR AWARD** 

**RECOGNITION OF RESEARCH ASSISTANTS** 

**RECOGNITION OF CLASS LEADERSHIP** 

**RECOGNITION OF PRO BONO CLINIC VOLUNTEERS** 

## **ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE AWARD**

The Academic Excellence Award is awarded to the graduate who has a high grade point average and reflects the mission and vision of the program.

## **CLINICAL LEADERSHIP AWARD**

The Clinical Leadership Award is presented to a graduate who exemplified outstanding performance in clinical practice.

# SERVICE EXCELLENCE AWARD

The Service Excellence Award recognizes graduates who most exemplified outstanding service to others throughout their time in the Program.

# PEER RECOGNITION AWARD

The graduates nominate a peer who consistently shares their knowledge and skills, acts as a resource for others and works for the benefit of the whole class.

## JEAN JOHNSON AWARD FOR LEADERSHIP, EXCELLENCE, & QUALITY

The award is named for Dr. Jean Johnson, former senior associate dean for health sciences and dean for the School of Nursing. Dr. Johnson has been advocate of the Program since its inception. This award is given to the student who distinguished themself through academic performance, clinical excellence and service. This person may be responsive to the needs of others, or demonstrates some other personal quality that distinguishes them among their peers. The recipient may have volunteered for faculty-generated special projects or assignments, taken on leadership roles, or recognized a need to provide service beyond the physical therapy community. Ultimately, this recipient fulfills and advances the mission of the program.

# STUDENT PRESENTATION

DPT CLASS OF 2021 GIFT Laura Vasse

DPT CLASS OF 2021 VIDEO PRESENTATION Julia Serrao

OUTSTANDING FACULTY AWARD Ryann Phillips

STUDENT CHARGE Kirsten Borsos

CONCLUDING REMARKS

Margaret Plack, PT, DPT, EdD

# GRADUATES

# **DPT GRADUATES**

Christopher J. Aherne Alyssa Goheen Caroline M. Rumph

Maral Amani Rebecca P. Goldstein Nathalia Sanchez

Rashi Anand Robyn Hatcher Alex Schoneberger

Kaitlin L. Barnet Allison M. Hoyle Samuel J. Schroeder

Mary K. Bennett Joanna S. Hsu Dana Schwartz

Kevin M. Bodine Cara Jenson Julia B. Serrao

Kirsten Borsos Zachary Johnson Sabrina Shapiro

Theresa Buechler Jesse C. Kirtchuk Krystal Smith

Megan R. Canter Stefanie A. Lin Nicole E. Smith

Erica Catanoso Mackenzie T. Meyer Candice T. Suitor

Gabriella Cook Sara Morley Jennifer Tang

Megan Culp Megan Morris Morgan A. Vasiliu

Kristen M. Czerwinski Sarah Morris Laura Vasse

Michael Datiles McKenzie J. Murray Charlotte E. Vogler

Aislinn Dolan Ryann Phillips Laura H. Voss

Rebecca T. Eisenberg Alexandra Reichenberg Megan V. Waples



# SHARE YOUR DAY

**#GWCommencement** 

## **DPT FACULTY AND STAFF**

#### STAFF

Miriam Okine Davies Heather Richards Mike Steele Marsha White

#### **FACULTY**

Marisa Birkmeier Keith Cole Ellen Costello Matt Garber Lindsay Garmirian Karen Goodman Dhinu Jayaseelan Holly Jonely Joyce Maring Margaret Plack David Scalzitti Joe Signorino Erin Wentzell Liana Wooten

# **SCHOOL OF MEDICINE & HEALTH SCIENCES**

2600 Virginia Ave., NW, Suite 104 • Washington, DC 20037 202-994-0384

f/GWSMHS

**y** @GWSMHS

**#GWSMHS**